Consul-General Takahiko Watabe Official Visits to Provinces and Territories in our Jurisdiction (Manitoba, Alberta, Northwest Territories & Saskatchewan), March–April 2023

In March of this year, Consul-General Takahiko Watabe made official visits to the governments of Manitoba, Alberta, and the Northwest Territories.

In Winnipeg, Manitoba, he met with the Premier of Manitoba, Heather Stefanson; Speaker Legislative Assembly of Manitoba, Myrna Driedger; Minister of Growth, Enterprise and Trade, Jeff Wharton; Minister of Agriculture, Derek Johnson; the Business Council of Manitoba; the Canola Council of Canada; and the executives from the Japanese Cultural Association of Manitoba.

In Edmonton, Alberta, he met with the Premier of Alberta, Danielle Smith; Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, Nathan Cooper; Minister of Finance, Travis Toews; Minister of Trade, Immigration and Multiculturalism, Rajan Sawhney; Minister of Transportation and Economic Corridors, Devin Dreeshen; Executive Director of International Relations, Chris Ryan; as well as key Nikkei and Japanese Relations contacts.

In the Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, he met with the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, Margaret Thom; the Premier of the Northwest Territories, Caroline Cochrane; other members of the territorial government; economic experts, and Japanese residents.

The Consul-General also made an official visit to Saskatchewan in April, where, in Regina, he met with the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan, Russell Mirasty; the Premier of Saskatchewan, Scott Moe; the Minister of Environment, Dana Skoropad; the Minister of Trade and Export Development, Jeremy Harrison; the Minister of Advanced Education, Gordon Wyant; the Provincial Secretary, Tim McLeod; the Deputy Minister of Energy and Resources, Susanna Laaksonen-Craig; executives from the University of Regina; the President and CEO of Prairie Clean Energy; executives from Protein Industries Canada; and the CEO of the Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership.

During these meetings, all parties exchanged opinions on a wide variety of topics including energy, food, resource scarcity, and tourism, as well as the promotion of economic activities and youth exchanges between Japan and each of the provinces and territories.

With the Honourable Heather Stefanson,
Premier of Manitoba
With the Honourable Myrna Driedger,
Speaker Legislative Assembly of Manitoba
With the Honourable Danielle Smith,
Premier of Alberta
With the Honourable Nathan Cooper,
Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta
With the Honourable Margaret Thom,
Commissioner of the Northwest Territories
With the Honourable Caroline Cochrane,
Premier of the Northwest Territories
With His Honour, the Honourable Russell Mirasty,
the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan
With the Honourable Scott Moe,
Premier of Saskatchewan & the Honourable Jeremy Harrison, Minister of Trade and Export Development